Apple-Roquefort-Bacon Pie

June 3, 2009 at 2:32 am | Posted in Just for fun, Rants, True Stories | 11 Comments

I love food.  I want to spend the rest of my life enjoying food.  However, I think I can say — with more seriousness than you might expect — that I could eat white rice for the rest of my life and still die happy having tasted this pie.

After I had two bites it I found myself hollering, wordlessly, repeatedly, with the kind of surprise that almost amounts to distress.  I paused the film we were watching.  My father and I both cursed aloud after each bite, which we seldom do.  The cook, my Dad’s wife, turned her head away quietly and started shedding tears. “I think I’m crying because of pie,” she said softly.  I think we were all having a deeply spiritual experience, practically speaking in tongues because of Total Flavor Overwhelm.*

The cook, my Dad’s wife, probably had a lot to do with the overall experience.  Her crust was perfect, and her choices of additional ingredients were inspired.  But I think even I could make this pie, and that’s saying a lot.  (I will, too. Anchorage friends may thank me now.)

I won’t publish the exact recipe here, just the ingredients — because I actually think you should buy the book it came from.  Folks who write cookbooks have really suffered from the wide availability of recipes online.  Also, this might be the best cookbook I’ve ever seen: Bubby’s Homemade Pies.  All of you Pushing Daisies fans will finally be able to emulate the Piemaker with the aid of this cookbook (excepting the rotten moldy fruit stash; I don’t recommend that).

So. Buy the book, or borrow it, or play with the following ingredients yourself to make apple-bacon-roquefort pie:

  • Pastry for a double-crust pie
  • Thick-cut hickory smoked bacon
  • Tart (but not too tart) green apples
  • Honey
  • Lemon juice
  • Fresh thyme
  • Salt & pepper
  • Roquefort Cheese

Yes, you sautée everything in bacon grease.  Our cook last night added a potent raspberry chipotle sauce (the fancy Costco variety) as well as ground chipotle peppers.  I think I will also add halved or chopped pecans when I make it myself.

Happy food fantasies, everyone.  Enjoy your kitchen, and remember those of us who have none.

M

*I recall having similar, para-religious experiences over the following foods, all in Alaska: Orso’s molten chocolate cake, Simon & Seafort’s crab-stuffed macadamia-crusted halibut cheeks (though that dish is hit-or-miss), the Talkeetna Roadhouse’s berry pie, the Noble’s Diner birch creme brulée (by Rob Kinneen, now cooking at Orso), Meantime double chocolate stout (brewed in London, consumed at the Tap Root), and the Moose’s Tooth Brewery’s Moonflower ESB.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] ate Apple-Roquefort-Bacon Pie and it changed my […]

  2. No picture? I’m outraged.

  3. Your experience sounds similar to one I recently had with an excellent single malt scotch. In honor of bacon lovers everywhere, thank you for this!!! :~)

    • For love of ALL things bacon. We celebrate the glory of bacon once a year, and have dedicated a website to it. I think that this year, based upon Marian’s glorious review of the Apple Roquefort Pie, that I shall bake it for this year’s BaconFest! http://www.baconfest.net/

  4. I just walked into the middle of a discussion of a bake off at work and bacon desert ideas! I’m wondering if I should show them this recipe or save it as my secret weapon…

  5. I just bought the book! Huzzah. Can’t wait.

  6. I will likely bake this pie now for our the 17th Annual BaconFest this October. http://www.baconfest.net/

  7. I will now likely bake this pie for the 17th Annual BaconFest this October.

  8. Oh, man, that’s how I felt eating tomato soup at Snow City cafe. It was all the things I had ever wanted Campbell’s tomato soup to be only better.

    I recently tried a seasonal specialty at my favorite local Italian place that had apples and gorgonzola and chicken sausage and gnocchi. It was *really* tasty!

  9. > Meantime double chocolate stout (brewed in London, consumed at the Tap
    > Root), and the Moose’s Tooth Brewery’s Moonflower ESB.

    I had the opportunity to try both while I was in Anchorage a few weeks ago. I can certainly attest to the fantasticness that is Moonflower ESB. I’m trying to find someplace down here that can stock it.


Leave a Reply

Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

